A searchable interactive map.
A map of the campus in a pdf format.
Maps that highlight and label different parking zones.
The University Libraries strive for excellence in service, instruction, and building collections. They always seek new and better ways to serve the academic community.
Bruno Business Library was built in 1994 on the old site of the Phi Kappa Psi Fraternity (which was literally picked up and moved in order to make way for the new library). The building was named in honor of Angelo Bruno (1924- 1991), who was Chairman of the Board of Bruno’s, Inc. and donated 4 million dollars toward the construction of a business library.
Amelia Gayle Gorgas Library was built in 1939 and is located on the site of the first library on campus. The first university library, known as the Rotunda, was destroyed during the Civil War and its ruins can be found underneath the semi-circular plaza in front of the building. The current building, constructed in 1939, is named for the University’s postmistress and librarian Amelia Gayle Gorgas (1826-1913) who was the wife of Confederate General Josiah Gorgas (1818-1883), the University’s 8th president and librarian.
The mission of the W.S. Hoole Special Collections Library is to acquire, preserve, and make available permanent collections of rare and unique research resources for the use of faculty, graduate, and undergraduate students of the University of Alabama as well as others. In addition to documenting the University of Alabama and the unique historical and cultural experience of the state of Alabama and the contributions of Alabamaians to the arts, literature, science, and other fields, our collections may focus on other specific areas of interest.
McLure Library is one of the University’s most historic buildings. Built in 1925,for years the building housed the student cafeteria, post office, and supply store. During that time, it housed a soda fountain, a favorite campus gathering place then. After World War II the third floor was used for several years as a dorm for male students. The building was remodeled in 1954 for the Education Library. In 1975 it was named in honor of John Rankin McLure, Dean of the College of Education, 1942-1959.
The Eric and Sarah Rodgers Library for Science and Engineering opened to the public on June 5, 1990. The library represents a merger of the Science Library collection from Lloyd Hall and the Engineering Library collection from the Mineral Industries Building. Rodgers Library was named in honor of Eric Rodgers and Sarah Rodgers, former members of the UA faculty